Meet the Crew

COACHES


Justin Knust

Coaching Director, High School Coach
CoachingDirector@RowLCRA.org

Coach Knust has over 20 years experience with rowing. Coach Knust moved to the Orlando area after coaching the University of Florida rowing club. Here in Central Florida, his training plans have led his rowing crews to place in the top 20 best boats in the country on multiple occasions. Coach Knust has coached rowers to compete and medal at the World Indoor Rowing Championship (Crash-Bs). Coach Knust is a USRowing Level III certified coach and CPR and First Aid certified.



Matt Outlaw

Recruiting Coordinator, High School Coach
RecruitingCoordinator@RowLCRA.org

Coach Outlaw began rowing in high school and continued his athletic career as a rower at Jacksonville University. Coach Outlaw matriculated with his degree in Kinesiology and Exercise Science at the University of Central Florida (Orlando). His education and knowledge as a competitive rower made him well-suited to join the Lake County Rowing staff as a youth coach and recruiting coordinator. Coach Outlaw is a USRowing Level III certified coach and is CPR and First Aid certified.



Keith Young
Adult Coach
AdultRowing@RowLCRA.org

Coach Young learned the sport in college at University of Central Florida under the tutelage of Dennis Kamrad, who founded the UCF rowing program, the Edgewater High School (FL) rowing program, and the Orlando Rowing Club. Since the mid 1990s, Keith has been involved in many aspects of coaching, including team/culture building, having developed male and female athletes into state, regional, and national champions at the high school, collegiate, and adult (Masters) level. He also holds a Level Three (High Performance) Certification from USRowing, the governing body of rowing in the United States. Keith is a 7th generation Floridian, who raised his family in Orlando. He has four children, three grandchildren, and has been married to the love of his life, Misty, for over 25 years. He now lives along the South Clermont Trail that runs along the shore of Lake Minneola, which puts him a stones throw from the Lake County Rowing Association boathouse. He also currently trains and competes as a Masters rower as well. Keith has two favorite things about rowing itself. First is that it is a sport that you can do for life, regardless of your intensity level of participation. Second, is that there is always something to learn and develop, thus rowing does not get any easier, you just get faster. His favorite thing about coaching is that there is no better feeling then serving others in such a way as to create a vision and lead them to achieving something that they never thought possible.



Tabitha Lum
Middle School Coach
MiddleSchoolCoach@RowLCRA.org


Michelle Heister
Middle School Coach
MichelleH@RowLCRA.org


 

OFFICERS


Alison Strange

President
President@RowLCRA.org


Mike Furukawa

Vice President
VP@RowLCRA.org


Anna Hann

Secretary
Secretary@RowLCRA.org


Heather Mears

Treasure
Treasurer@RowLCRA.org


 

BOARD


Wendy 
Burkett
Founding Member
Wendy@RowLCRA.org


Karen 
Dorr
Founding Member
Karen@RowLCRA.org


Debbie Kiely

Founding Member, Past President
Debbie@RowLCRA.org


Nancy Hoff
Founding Member
NHoff2001@gmail.com

 
Paul McPherson
Founding Member, Past President
Paul@RowLCRA.org 


Alison Strange
Founding Member,
President
President@RowLCRA.org


Mike 
Furukawa
Board Member, Vice President
VP@RowLCRA.org      

Erin Gerlach
Board Member
YouthCoordinator@RowLCRA.org